Wedding Planning From Your Vendors’ Point of View {Miniseries} ~ Wedding Makeup

Happy Sunday!  It’s the last day of the weekend and a new beginning to the week.  I never did know how I felt about Sundays…. but today is different!  I have been excited to share a series of posts I have put together that will run all this week about wedding planning.  And who better to get advice about all the different aspects of your wedding planning than from the vendors who help make your day a success?

The more I talk to new brides, I realize that many of them know the general tasks that need to be completed before their wedding date {such as finding a photographer, a caterer, a DJ or band, etc.}, but are un-educated as to how to go about doing that, or finding a person that is the right fit for the wedding they want and for them and their guests.

This mini-series hopefully offers some insight and advice for those of you planning your weddings.  We will talk to a Makeup Artist, Caterers, Photographers and offer advice on beach wedding planning and I will offer advice on how to start your planning process.  Please feel free to leave questions and comments, and I will respond to them.

Today’s wedding pro is Aaron Ellerbrock of BRIDEface Richmond:

BRIDEface Richmond

Makeup! We play with it, we buy it, we wear it, we love it! But sometimes we hate it too, don’t we? Why is it that the products that look so pretty in the store or in the magazine don’t look as pretty on us when we get home?

My name is Aaron Ellerbrock and I am the owner and lead artist for BRIDEface Richmond.  I was trained under celebrity makeup artist Laura Mercier, and at BRIDEface Richmond, we specialize in airbrush foundation, individual lash enhancements, and impeccable makeup application for a flawless, long-wearing, stunning look that is just as gorgeous in real life as on camera. Having been a global artist and training executive for several luxury cosmetic brands I have learned the ins and outs of the industry quite well.

On average women spend $100 per month on beauty and cosmetic products. That certainly adds up! Above and beyond anything else, the number one reason I hear as to why so many women end up not liking what they buy is A LACK OF EDUCATION!!! And guess what ladies…that is not your fault! It is the fault of the person selling you that makeup. Now, I understand that if you are picking something up from a drug store you may not have a beauty advisor there to help you, but if you are shopping at ANY department store, there are people there that are paid to do just that. The problem that comes up is that they are also required to sell a certain dollar amount each day (and yes girls, I did that for years) and so sometimes the sale of a product becomes more important than how to put it on.

Make sure you take the time to ask questions like:

  • What is the best applicator for this product?
  • How heavy do I want to apply?
  • Show me exactly where on the eye this goes to contour?
  • Do I need anything to maximize the wearability of this product?

Hundreds of dollars a year can be saved if you have the advisor give you the proper education on that product. I actually teach FACEing classes where I come to my client’s home and she brings up to five friends and we do just that. We go through the makeup bags, not with the purpose of cleaning them out (although if I find a mascara that is older than 6 months I will do my best to pry it away from you) but to show how you can get the most out of your products and make them work for you!

Now when it comes to wedding makeup there are a few things to keep in mind. I firmly believe that you can be very confident with makeup, but should probably not take on the pressure of doing your own. The nerves and excitement of the day can add stress to the bride who is trying to do it herself. If you must do your own {for example a destination wedding}

  •  Take a DIY class first {we would be happy to help you with this!}
  • Second, be careful what foundation your chose. You want to be certain what you are wearing is enough coverage so that your photographer does not have to work overtime editing the photos. But conversely, you don’t want a heavy foundation that will weigh the skin down and make you look older. Cheeks are very complicated.
  • Brides like to have the glow, but stay away from the “sparkle powder”.  It ends up reflecting your photographers flash back at him and you end up “whited” out.
  • Create a great cheek by the use of cream blush and a perfectly placed highlight.
  • When it comes to eyes you typically need to go with a little more drama. That does not mean if you are used to wearing a little liner and mascara everyday that you then have to have a full-blown smoky look. You can still get the drama with a nude all over shadow, a bit of contour for the outer crease and then a dramatic liner with lash enhancements. That way when you look at your photos in 20 years you will look like you, not some stranger.

BRIDEface Richmond, nude eyeshadow

Photo credit: Robin McKerrell.  Makeup by BRIDEface

One last tip to remember is to make sure you have a great sealer the day of the wedding. If it is warm, or you are someone who gets teary-eyed, a sealer can save the day.

Makeup can be your best friend. It is something that should boost your confidence, not make your more stressed. Take time before the big day to research what is going to be best for you. Remember there are professionals out there that want to hear a register ring, but there are so many more who want you to feel like the beautiful and confident woman you are.

-Aaron Ellerbrock with BRIDEface Richmond

Aaron helps run a blog on BRIDEface with lots of useful makeup tips!  You should head over there and read it after you’re done visiting me

BRIDEface Richmond, bride, bridal, makeup

So brides!  Listen to the man!  I self-educated myself about makeup before my wedding, thanks to my BFF, and while it was fun {we practiced with my bachelorette party makeup}, I am SO happy that I took the time to do this since I could not hire someone for my wedding date {the woman I wanted was booked, and ran out of time finding another one}.  I want to list my favorite makeup must-haves that I recommend to every one of my brides:

  • A face primer – My BFF turned me on to this, and I thought it was unnecessary at the time, but it did WONDERS for the imperfections on my face. A silicone based primer fills in any pores or whatnot on your skin without clogging your pores or making you oily. I recommend and LOVE

  • A great foundation that matches the color of your neck, not the color of your face or your hands!  So many women go too dark or too light on their makeup, and it makes them look alien.  When you get the right shade, the foundation should even out your skintone, not make you a completely different shade.  For special occasions where lots of pictures will be taken, I LOVE a light radiating foundation like

  • Eyelid primer– A wedding day is a marathon.  No matter how often you fix your face, your makeup is not going to last the long haul…. especially if you’re having fun.  Eyelid primer helps keep your eye shadow from running into the crease of your eyelid and helps you feel photo ready all day.  I LOVE  {Urban Decay Eyeshadow Primer Potion}
  • A pair of false lashes- now before you judge me, I have told several brides and my own bridesmaids about this, and they all hated the idea of wearing false lashes on their wedding day.  They all said they wanted to look like themselves.  Let me be the first to say that  YOU WILL look like yourself, but your eyes won’t look washed out or tired!  A $6 pair of false lashes will keep you fresh all day, and most of your guests won’t even know you’re wearing them!
  • Use a lip stain instead of makeup.  Unless you are going for the bright red glam look, opt for a lip stain instead of lipstick.  You will have to touch it up less often.  Go for a shiny gloss on top if you want that lipstick look.

So yes, all of this is a lot of effort, and yes it will cost a bit more, but please please trust me when I say it is worth every penny if you are not investing in a makeup artist for your wedding!  I use all of these products (except for lashes) for every single wedding I produce because I need to look fresh the whole day too!

Please comment below with any questions you have!  We will make sure to get you an answer to them!

Happy Planning!

