Honeydew It Yourself Friday! ~ Party Hat DIY and Birthday Bowling

It was my birthday this week, and I wanted to do something fun for HDIY this week!  {Usually I talk about my birthday for a solid month so just having birthday week is a big deal}

So today I am going to show you how to make some party hats!  Yes you can just go to the store and get party hats, but I think they are always so ugly.  It is actually pretty hard to find cute party hats.

I happened to have all the materials in my craft supplies to make 12 of these {I had enough to make 100 probably} so these cost $0 but if you were to buy everything you need, it would probably cost $.50-$1 to make each of these.

Thank you to Oh Happy Day for providing the original tutorial I used to make these, as well as the hat template.

Materials:

Party, birthday hat DIY tutorial

Assorted cardstock or heavy paper

scissors

hole punch

exacto knife

ribbon or string

printed hat template

embellishments (flowers, pom poms, buttons, etc)

Hot glue gun (not pictured)

stapler (not pictured)

tape (not pictured)

Trace and cut out all the party hats you need.

Party birthday hat DIY tutorial

Assemble the hats.  NOTE: It’s a little tricky to get the tabs to bend the way you want, especially with thicker cardstock.  I found that if you cut the slit at the BOTTOM of the tab just a little longer, you can slip it into the tab slot easier.  Then you just need to tape the tab from the inside (which you will see in the next few steps) to make it stay.

Party birthday hat DIY tutorial

Gently squeeze the base of the hat together to determine two opposite ends and punch a hole with the hole punch on each end, not too close to the edge of the hat (it will rip later).

Tape the inside flap together to make sure the tab doesn’t pop out.

Party birthday hat DIY tutorial

Party birthday hat DIY tutorial

Cut out about 12-15 inches of ribbon or string for the ties.  NOTE: Cut the ribbon on an angle to make threading it through the hole easier, and to make it prettier.  Make a knot on one end of the ribbon or string.  String through the hole on the hat.

Party birthday hat DIY tutorial

The fun part!  Embellish your hats however you want.  I used things I had around like flowers, buttons and pom poms.  I like the idea of curling some curling ribbon and attaching it to the top too.  If you are planning a themed party, you could glue little knick nacks to the hats.  Dinosaurs, popcorn and a million other things!

Party birthday hat DIY tutorial

I am so happy with how these turned out!!

Party birthday hat DIY tutorial

For my birthday, I try to get a bunch of people together to go do a fun activity.  The past couple years we went to a comedy club, a drag brunch (one of my favorite birthdays!) and did game night one year too.  This year I wanted to do Laser Tag SO badly but logistically it didn’t work.  SO we went bowling instead!  Here are some pictures of everyone having fun at my birthday party!

Birthday Bowling

My friends are AWESOME!  Such good sports to put up with me dressing them up all the time!

Birthday Bowling

Birthday Bowling

Birthday Bowling

My husband is such a good sport!!!

Birthday Bowling

Nice form!  …. kinda

Birthday Bowling

That’s his best score ever!!

Birthday Bowling

Thanks to all my wonderful friends and family for coming out to celebrate!!!!

Birthday Bowling

Happy Planning!

