Honeydew It Yourself Friday ~ Cookie Dough Truffles (No bake!)

Happy Christmas Eve-Eve!  I am enjoying the Florida weather, which is still not the same as being in the Caribbean like I was this time last year, but is still not Virginia weather.  So I’m pretty sure I’m coming out ahead here.

I racked my brain thinking of what DIY to share with you this week.  I wanted it to be a useful tutorial, but with Christmas 2 days away, I highly doubted anyone was going to take a few hours to create some kind of geniously crafted decorative item, so I thought I would go a different direction.  Some of you may be attending some holiday parties tonight or tomorrow or in a few hours, and have nothing to bring or are looking for something different you can offer. Fear not!  I am going to share a no bake Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough truffle (it’s still a cookie to me) recipe that I found on Pinterest.

I really like the idea of this recipe because it’s SO GOOD, it’s a crowd pleaser, it’s different and its super easy-

I made a batch of these and the pictures didn’t turn out since it was raining outside {no light} so I am going to use the images from Love & Olive Oil where the recipe came from.

Cookie dough truffles or cookies

image and the following recipe via Love and Olive Oil

chocolate chip cookie dough truffles

Yield: 3-4 dozen

Prep Time: 1 hour

Total Time: 2 1/2 hours

INGREDIENTS:

2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon baking soda
1 cup (2 sticks) butter or margarine, room temperature
3/4 cup granulated sugar
3/4 cup packed brown sugar
1 teaspoon vanilla (use Madagascar vanilla)
1/3 cup milk or soy milk (I used 2% milk)
1 cup mini semi-sweet chocolate chips

14 oz dark chocolate candy coating (she used meltable chocolate from the cake aisle at the craft store, but I like the idea of melted white chocolate or dark chocolate)

DIRECTIONS:

Beat butter and sugars and in large bowl with electric mixer on medium speed until light and fluffy. Add soymilk and vanilla. Stir in flour, baking soda and salt and mix on low speed (or by hand) until incorporated. Stir in chocolate chips.

Cover and chill dough for 1 hour.

When dough is firm enough to handle (it may help to lightly flour your hands), form dough into 1″ balls and arrange on a baking sheet lined with waxed paper. Place sheets in freezer and let chill for 30 minutes.

Melt chocolate candy coating in a double boiler or in microwave according to package directions. Using forks or a dipping tool (I used a bamboo skewer), dip cookie balls into candy coating to cover. Tap fork on side of pan to remove any excess coating, and return to waxed paper-lined baking sheets. Chill until set. Store, chilled, in an airtight container for up to 1 week (though good luck making them last that long).

So my husband loves cookie dough – he eats an entire pint of Ben and Jerry’s Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough in one sitting, I can’t even do that.  With that being said, these disappeared so fast.  I made half the recipe because I didn’t want a ton of truffle cookies sitting around and they were gone in no time.
Hope this helps any of you readers who need something last-minute {but don’t want to resort to store-bought}.
Happy Planning and Murry Chrissmass! (yes that was on purpose)
