Honeydew It Yourself Friday- Quatrefoil stencil

OHappy Friday to everyone!  I am amazed at how fast November has come and gone…. like really.  Christmas is just around the corner {I know, I know, don’t remind you, right?}  I can’t say I feel the same way, as Alan, my husband, and I are ditching Christmas again this year and going down to Florida to stay with his brother and girlfriend.  SO EXCITED!

I realize that Christmas is about spending time with family and getting together to celebrate, but it has turned into such a huge production, which admittedly is my own doing {I don’t know how to make things simple, that doesn’t exist in my world}, that it became too much very very quickly.  This new “tradtion” that my husband and I are producing came from our taking our Honeymoon over Christmas last year.  It wasn’t really intentional, it was just the only time we could get away for vacation with our school and work obligations.  Turned out it was an amazing idea.  So yeah, we’re migrating south for the winter.

I digress, I am here to post a tutorial today, so let me get to the point.

Recently I got an itch to redecorate my tiny tiny little kitchen.  It all started with our twice-yearly maintenence of taking out the air conditioners in the house {no central air} and it turned into a 3 day project to redecorate the kitchen.  Totally normal in my house.

I am planning on posting some before and after images later on, but we are having the back door replaced, so I figured I would wait until that was done to take the final “after” images.

So for today’s HDIY I am showing you how to make a quatrefoil pattern for just about anything.  I have put it onto contact paper in this case-

Materials:

contact paper- I used white, bought at Lowe’s for about $3

spray paint in your choice of color- I used Valspar’s Classic Grey

spray adhesive

exacto knife

scissors

at least 5 copies of the quatrefoil pattern {print on cardstock} available for download here

at least 4 scrap pieces of full sized paper

Once you’ve printed out all your templates, take your exacto knife and carve out ONLY the black areas.  Be careful.  Get some wine and sit in front of the TV, this takes a little while.  NOTE- You want to make multiples of the stencil to make the process go a bit quicker.  Depending on how large an area you are stenciling, you could use less templates.  I will explain more later.

 

Use the Spray Mount and spray the back of one of the stencils.  Roll out the contact paper {if using} and place the first stencil in the corner.  Make sure to take your time lining up the edges, it will really make a difference later!

 

 

Use the scrap paper to protect the area all around where you are spraying.  I used the spray mount on the back of this paper to ensure nothing got uner the paper. Spray over the stencil.  Make sure none of the edges of the stencil have puckered or you will have an uneven line.  NOTE: Once you have sprayed, immediately lift up the stencil.  I found this out because the spray eventually seeps through the stencil paper and causes the lines to bleed.  Let this layer set for a few minutes. {Ignore the printed paper below, I printed too many stencils and used those as my scrap paper, which is what you see here}

Ok, here comes the tricky part.  If you don’t want to spend the better part of 4 days  spraying  yards of contact paper, this is what I suggest you do-  cut half of the stencils with a border like I did in the image above, and cut the other half without the border {the square the forms around the edge of the entire paper}. DO leave the chunky blank part that printed at the bottom of the paper to help as a guard agains the paint.  Place the stencil WITH the border down where you want it, and  also position the stencil WITHOUT the border around it at the same time, layering the  second stencil under the border of the first.  That way, when you lift the stencil up on the first, bordered stencil, it doesn’t affect the second , unbordered stencil.  Still with me?       You have to be careful when you protect the rest of the area from printing, but this makes the process go more quickly.  Keep up this process, alternating bordered and unbordered stencils and you can get through the project in half the time.

Using this process, I did have to go back and use white and grey paint to touch up edges.  This was because I did not lift the stencils up quickly enough {I let them dry first} and the paint eventually seeped onto the contact paper.  This is why I suggested making several stencils so you can let the stencils dry in-between usage.  Or better yet, make enough stencils to cover your entire project, position them all at once and spray the entire thing in one go.  That would be the better way to do this project.  I was using such a long length of contact paper that I didn’t want to to take the time to cut all those stencils.  Lazy me.

While thinking about what I wanted to do for the re-design, I originally had pictured a printed fabric on the front of my cabinet doors.  I realized that I wanted to explore an open-cabinet style {which I am SO glad I did now} which led me to figuring out what to do to gussy up my cabinets.  I tried looking for walpaper that I liked, and it was too expensice to order it and I was too impatient to wait for it to get shipped.  I searched for a quatrefoil template and came across the one I linked above.  So thanks to Jen from Tatertots & Jello via the CSI Project’s Paint Challenge for this template and her tutorial!

They made a large serving platter and a stool- both very cute

So $3 for the contact paper, some printed paper and a $5 can of spraypaint later and I redecorated my cabinets.  Go me!

Are you a stencil user?  What projects do you have going on right now?

Happy Planning!

