Vendor Vail Wednesdays: Petites Bouchees

Today’s VVW is getting off to a late start as I had traffic court this morning… I know… I know… Well I’m glad it’s over and done with and I can move on with my day.

Thank you so very much to Jenna from The Pink Lantern for her sweet little bio from last week as well as the custom wedding chair tags that she offered as the giveaway!  I still wish I had made some kind of chair sign for my own wedding last year, but we got seats next to the wall, so it really wouldn’t have mattered….

This week I am SO very excited to introduce Veronica Perez, the talented woman behind one of Richmond’s most popular desserteries {word?} Petites Bouchees!  I was first introduced to Petites Bouchees through the delicious and addictive macarons that Veronica is known for making {shown in her logo} and I really have been hooked ever since. I really really wanted a macaron one night so being me, I decided to try and make some.  Stick around because at the end of this post I will share my disaster of a baking experiement… yeah.

I remember looking at the macarons during a bridal show at the VMFA and thinking if I ate one, it would be super crunchy.  Au contraire monfraire…. it has the hint of a crust on the outside, is slightly chewy on the inside then you hit the filling and it is the smoothest, creamiest filling.  Oh Veronica, I am torturing myself talking about these macarons!  Luckily I was able to bring some home from the bridal show this past spring, and found out that my husband is not a fan.  YAY!  He always gets into the sweets around the house before I can, so I actually got to eat these.

One of my favorite things on Petites Bouchees Website is a little tutorial on how to eat a macaron.  So learn it up here, it’s a cute little walkthrough.

Petites Bouchees is a special dessert service that specializes in mini-desserts.  Their philosophy has always been focused on quality of ingredients, flavor and baked from scratch goodness.

Petites Bouchees was started in 2008 because of the lack of good desserts that were available in the Richmond area at the time.  Their most popular treat is the French Macaron {what I’ve been ranting about} not to be confused with the American Macaroon- the French does not contain any coconut and is made with nuts and egg whites which makes it gluten-free.  Because of their elegant look and amazing colors they’ve become very popular on dessert tables or as party favors.

On Saturday’s, Veronica sells her macarons at Amour Wine Bistro in Carytown for a few hours in the afternoons.  If you have a craving now, you should head over there this weekend and stock up on a few!

Petites Bouchees now offers mini pies and tarts and makes them with the same meticulous care as they do their macarons.  This will be our delicious giveaway this week, so keep reading!

Petites Bouchees has been featured in Richmond Magaine, Richmond Bride, Belle magazine and Richmond Guide.

Now as promised, my very first attempt at macarons.  DISCLAIMER!: By no means am I trying to steal the glory from Veronica’s desserts or anything….  I know these may look appetizing, but I promise to keep my day job and not do anything crazy like start up my own bakery or something. Promise.

Haha. Gross.  These are pistachio macarons.  I learned that I did not whip the eggs enough so I created a runny mess.

Round 2 produced something a liiitle better with a traditional, non flavored batter: {before baking, and after baking}

These ended up more merangue-like, and crispy all the way through. Some had a bit of a chewy texture, so I consider this semi-victorious.  I didn’t get a picture of them actually sandwiched together, but the ganache was the best thing I managed to make.  After talking to Veronica, she told me she still has issues from time to time with her macarons.  They are really tempermental little things and if all the factors aren’t exactly right, then they just don’t turn out right.

Well hopefully you got a little laugh from that.  I tried and it was fun, now I’ll just make sure to have some of those macarons in stock next time I have a craving.  On to the giveaway!

Petites Bouchees has been so kind in offering Honeydew Events readers 1 dozen of their newest mini-creations, their pie pops! You may choose either blueberry or apple.  Here are the rules!

Running from Wednesday, November 2 to Tuesday, November 8th at midnight, you have up to 5 chances to enter this week!

1 entry= 1 seperate comment! So 5 entries = 5 comments!

.

.

Get over to facebook and like Petites Bouchees page, then leave a comment here saying you’ve done this

.

.

While you’re there, like Honeydew Events on facebook and leave another comment here saying you’ve done this

.

.

Follow Petites Bouchees on Twitter at @petitesbouchees, and tweet about the giveaway, leaving a comment here that you’ve done this

.

.

Follow Honeydew Events on twitter @HoneydewEvents and leave a comment here saying you’ve done this

.

.

Finally, subscribe to the Honeydew Events blog for your final entry, and make sure to leave a comment here that you subscribed!

.

.

Good luck everyone!

