Vendor Vail Wednesdays: Modern Atelier ~ Handcrafted Scents

I know I say this every week for VVW {Vendor Vail Wednesdays} but I can’t believe another week has gone by…. Though I am glad that it has because I have had a hectic couple of days and could use some R&R!  But that won’t happen till Sunday at least.

Thank you to last week’s VVW spotlighted vendor, Burlap + Blue!  We love your site here at Honeydew Events and I still am in love with the chalkboard painted cake stand you made, Linda.

This week’s talented VVW vendor is Amy George, the woman behind Modern Atelier’s Richmond City inspired Handmade Scents.  Amy makes handcrafted scents for men and women who appreciate the time and creativity she puts into each bottle.  She also makes home fragrances and bath & body care.  She has been so kind as to offer a giveaway today {which I have been dreading parting with because I am rather obsessed with the fragrance she is offering, more on that later}.  I have to admit I  have really been looking forward to featuring Amy’s work because of the story behind her products…. *segue*

Amy moved to Richmond in late 2002 to attend VCU’s (Virginia Commonwealth University’s) Urban Studies program.  She is an urban planner by trade and by day, utilizing very technical skills.  By night {and some weekends} she creates perfumes as a hobby.  When she and I sat down to talk I first thought that she found an escape from her technically-based job with the creativity needed to create the perfumes but she explained that the two skill sets have a lot in common.  She does love the creativity of creating unique scents but the science behind making the perfumes is also highly technical which really relates back to her job as an urban planner. She believes that her perfumes are a natural extension of her love for Richmond and its places and neighborhoods, and let me just tell you after smelling most of her work that she is absolutely right.

Amy got started creating perfumes when she got tired of smelling the same scent every day on every girl at VCU {DKNY Be Delicious if you must know}.  Amy also had a hard time finding products she could use with her sensitive skin which she found increasingly frustrating.  She loves walking and riding her bike in the city, and one day after it rained she thought she could capture that scent in a bottle while controlling the ingredients.  A few weeks later she had one of her first scents- Libbie and Grove and the rest is history!

{on display at the new Richmond Craft Mafia’s shop at Crossroads Art Center September, 2010}

Amy has been featured on many shows and publications including Richmond Magazine, Richmond.com, Virginia this Morning, Virginia Radio News Network and Urge Magazine as well as several notable perfume blogs such as Perfume Smellin’ Things

I had a lot of fun digging through the 2 dozen + scents that Amy has created.  I also have to say that usually when I sniff test perfumes in stores I get a raging headache, but that did not happen thankfully with these perfumes.  Earlier I talked about how Amy creates “Richmond Inspired Scents” which may sound a little vague but I will expand {and you true Richmond-ers out there will know what I’m talking about!}  The scents I liked the most out of her collection were

Carytown Sweet Tea: After a leisurely Saturday afternoon spent shopping in Carytown’s fashionable boutiques, even the most die-hard shopaholic needs a little break. What’s more refreshing than a tall, cold glass of sweet tea? The ambrosia of the South, this brisk, brewed black tea has plenty of sugar. Want mint or lemon on the side? You got it. {yeah, it’s exactly what it smells like it sounds like… it… smells… like…}

Shockoe Bottom: {A customer favorite!} This begins with a sweet, musky blend of violet sugar, soft vanilla musk, and hints of Chambord. The perfect sweet/sexy scent for a night out on the town or in da club.

The Rivah: Smells fresh and city-ish all at the same time.  My description of the smell will either leave you wondering if we are talking about the same dirty river we all know and love but trust me this smells good!

Miller and Rhoads:  I bought one of these for my mother in law {M&R was a fond memory for her growing up} Another description by yours truly but this scent was ever so slightly nostalgic with hints of the grandeur that the old department stores used to offer.

Byrd Theater:  This was my FAVORITE scent out of them all, and is the giveaway for todays VVW! Thankfully Amy has a description prepared for this scent.  all the scents of the vintage movie palace – Hot Buttered Popcorn, Ooey, Gooey milk duds, and an icy cold Coke.  This scent is addictive and makes me want to chew off my own arm {I added that part}.  I’ll be treating myself to a bottle of this in the near future.

Oh how I would love to use the Rafflecopter widget for the entries today but I’ll have to do it the hard way!

To win the Byrd Theater Scent by Modern Atelier  leave a comment below after completing EACH of the following.  Up to 8 entries per person this week which means 8 comments.  The winner of this awesome giveaway will be responsible for shipping costs ($3-$5) payable via Paypal.  This contest runs from when this post goes live until midnight on Tuesday, October 11, 2011.

.

Like Modern Atelier on facebook and leave a comment here

.

.

Like Honeydew Events on facebook and leave another comment here

.

.

Check out Modern Atelier’s website and tell me which scent is your favorite

.

.

Subscribe to Modern Atelier’s blog and leave a comment here

.

.

Subcribe to Honeydew Event’s blog to stay up to date on new giveaways and eye candy and leave another comment below

.

.

Follow Amy at Modern Atelier on twitter @GeorgeAE and leave a comment

.

.

For the final entry, follow Honeydew Events on Twitter @HoneydewEvents and leave your last entry comment below!

.

.

Good luck everyone!  Thank you again to Modern Atelier for the giveaway and I look forward to announcing the winner next week!

