Happy St. Patty’s Day Readers!

There are so many fun things going on in celebration of this Irish Festivity.  I love all holidays and find any reason to celebrate but St. Patrick’s day is very near and dear to my heart personally.  The 17th is when my husband and I “celebrate” {I use this term loosly since we really just acknowledge the day} when we became a couple 7 years ago today!  Now that we have more important days to celebrate, I don’t expect him to remember this date on top of everything else.  I will take what I can get.

Last night I went to a local Irish Pub which is our normal watering hole and celebrated the St. Patty’s “wake” which was lots of fun.  I did miss this part but the empoyees educated me that they roll out a coffin and celebrate more or less the death of St. Patrick himself.  I don’t really know how to feel about this tradition but it was fun to learn about and there was a good crowd there for the festivities.

Being a bartender myself for many years, while sitting at the bar I did a bit of research and tried to come up with a fun drink for St. Patty’s day to serve tonight.  You can serve these at your St. Patrick’s day party tonight or next year!

The best one I found is the “Shamrocked”: St. Patrick's day drink, shamrocked

2 oz midori (or any melon liquor)

.5 oz irish whiskey (I used Jameson)

.5 oz bailey’s (or any irish creme)

Shake it well and strain into a shot glass. It didn’t sound good admittedly but it was good.

Option #2 is the “Irish Flag”

St. Patrick's Day drink, Irish Flag

This one is trickier since you have to layer or stack the liquors.  Use a small spoon and pour slowly.                                Here is the recipe:

Creme de menthe on the bottom

Irish creme (bailey’s) floated on top

Grand Marnier last

I prefer mine chilled but it is hard to achieve this without messing up the layers. And it’s a pain.

Hopefully I can coax a few people into having one tonight with their green beers.  We will see.  But everyone be safe and here is an Irish blessing for you!

“May you live as long as you want and never want as long as you live!”

