Welcome to Honeydew Events!

This year has been very exciting for me.  Once things settled down after getting married near the end of last year and coming back from the Honeymoon I realized I needed another project to focus me.  I had been toying with the idea of starting an Event Planning company for about a year and after thinking and thinking and thinking about it I decided “if I don’t do this now, when will I?”.  So it was done.  Simple as that.  Honeydew Events was born!

The name did have a bit of evolution involved though.  A co-worker at the restaurant I work at thought immediately of Honey-Do which stuck with me for a while but it was just lacking and visually it bothered me.  About a dozen names were thrown around including Honeyed Events, which was the runner up.  Finally my dad (a punster at heart) said “If you’re going to go with Honey-Do you should just spell it literally”.  Taadaa! I find this all very ironic because of all melons I favor cantoloupes and watermelons, I never did care for honeydew the fruit- but I do love the color green!

The overall idea of starting a business is scary, overwhelming, exciting, confusing and so many other nouns and adjectives but just as you do when planning a party- you break the big picture down into smaller parts and you tackle them individually.  The past weeks I have been doing just that.  This is my passion and my drive. Bring it on!

It has been about 5 weeks since Honeydew Events was officially a business and so much has happened since then.  I am working with 2 (yes 2!) brides and have a logo, a domain name for my web page (still under construction- will post feverishly when it is up, promise), a facebook page and a brain full of ideas I can’t contain them all!  This has forced my neurotocism into overdrive and have organized myself into domestic bliss.  Color coded and labeled client binders, logo stickers, a rolodex with handmade color tabs (blog project to show later), indexed idea books and more. I have even started tweeting (my husband rolled his eyes at this and said “you’re one of THEM now?”) {@honeydewevents} which has been an adventure in itself- every two seconds I’m clicking links and going on google trying to figure out what’s happening in the world of wedding and event planning, haha!

As I get my BLOG more organized you will be able to find new craft projects with step by step instructions, color inspiration, visual inspiration, links, and eventually giveaways.  So follow me on twitter and sign up to subscribe and see what I have to say for myself!

Honeydew Events is an LLC and we specialize in any social event or occasion and weddings.  Baby showers, bridal showers, birthdays, retirement parties, engagement parties, rehearsal dinners, vow renewals, etc.  If you live in the Richmond, VA area contact me and I would love to make your next memorable event!

Until next time!

-Honey

